Chancellor Ramon Arcadio gets 2nd term

 Chancellor Ramon Arcadio gets 2nd term 
The BOR appoints Dr. Arcadio to 2nd term.

DR. RAMON L. ARCADIO, current Chancellor of UP Manila, was appointed by the UP Board of 
Regents to his second term last September 29, 2008. He will serve from 2008-2011. 

Dr. Arcadio is a multi-awarded pediatrician and Professor of Pediatrics. He has a Master in 
Health Professions Education from the NTTC-HP, and a Fellowship in Pediatrics from UP Winthrop.
Dr. Arcadio served as Dean of the UP College of Medicine from 1997-2003 before he served his first 
term as Chancellor in 2005. All in all, he has 35 years of academic and administrative experiences. 

Some of Chancellor Arcadio's most recent achievements in support of teaching and research, patient care, 
and community health: 
~ The UP School of Health Sciences in Baler (AUrora) and Sout Cotabato. 
~ The Community Health Program for all Up Manila colleges in San Juan, Batangas 
~ A Museum Archives for UP Manila 
~ The construction of a Muslim Prayer Room for hospital patients, staff, and rotating students 
~ 13 academic improvement projects 
~ new General Education courses 
~ external accreditation of academic programs and of the hospital 
~ Grants for research disemination, open grants, and post-doctoral research 
~ 81 Centennial Faculty Professorial Chairs and 41 Faculty Grants 
~ monetary benefits for faculty w/o compensation 
~ monthly awards for outstanding employees 
~ Intellectual Property Office for UP Manila 
~ NIH Institute of Herbal Medicine 
~ centennial donations (UP Manila) 3x more than the target 
~ Research Grant Administration Office (RGAO) 
~ Accreditation with FERCAP (Forum for Ethical Review Committees in Asia & the Western Pacific Region) 
~ Resource generation efforts resulting in a total donation of $979,962.11 and Php 55,545,936.51 in 6 years 

Chancellor Arcadio's most recent awards: 
~ Doctor of Humanities (Honoris Causa), San Beda College (2006) 
~ Most Distinguished Bedan, San Beda College (2006) 
~ Centennial Award for Professional Excellence, Rotary International (2005) 
~ Outstanding Philippine Doctor --Jaycees International, WHO, DOH (2004) 
~ Outstanding Professional of the Year for Medicine, Professional Regulation Commission (2004) 
~ Award of Recognition for Outstanding Work in COntinuing Medical Education 
(Dr. Hermogenes A. Santos Memorial Award), Philippine Medical Association (2004) 
~ Distinguished Service Award, Philippine Medical Association (2001) 
~ Outstanding Leadership Award, Association of Philippine Medical Colleges Foundation (2001)